The gateway to the World Heritage Sites of Ajanta and Ellora. Aurangabad is named after the Mughal emperor, Aurangzeb.

Ajanta Caves

200 B.C. and 650 A.D

Ellora Caves

UNESCO World Heritage Site

Kailashnath Temple

rock cut temples built between 757 and 783

Daulatabad Fort

14th century fort

Chini Mahal

1687 period ruins

Bibi Ka Maqbara

built between 1651 and 1661

Chand Minar

erected in 1445

Pitalkhora Caves

1st century B.C

Bhadkal Gate

built in 1612

Gautala Wildlife Sanctuary

sloth bears, leopards and birds

Grishneshwar Temple

18th century temple

Himroo Silk Weaving Factory

hand weaving


created by a meteor impact

Panchakki (Water Mill)

erected in 1695

Salim Ali Lake and Bird Sanctuary

Siddharth Garden and Zoo

tigers, lions, leopards

Soneri Mahal

17th century palace