Cook Islands

the cook islands is a nation in the south pacific, with political links to new zealand. its 15 islands are scattered over a vast area. the largest island, rarotonga, is home to rugged mountains and avarua, the national capital. to the north, aitutaki island has a vast lagoon encircled by coral reefs and small, sandy islets. the country is renowned for its many snorkeling and scuba-diving sites.

Te Vara Nui Village

cultural show

Aitutaki Lagoon

islands, beaches

Tapuaetai (one foot island)

small island

Muri Lagoon

beach, lagoon

Titikaveka Beach

nice beach

Maire Nui Botanical Gardens

tropical garden

Punanga Nui

cultural market

Te Rua Manga

hike, views

Matutu Brewery

tiny brewary

Aroa Marine Reserve

tropical reef fish

Wigmore Waterfalls

falls, pool


sea, fishing

Muri Night Markets

food market

Ootu Beach

snorkelling, dive


island, beach